About Us

Nakuru Rural Water and Sanitation Company Limited (NARUWASCO) is a Water Service Provider (WSP) under the County Government of Nakuru and the Rift Valley Water Services Board who are the License holders. The company is thus a legally constituted entity capable of undertaking its functions as stipulated in its Articles and Memorandum of Association.

It was incorporated under the Company’s Act Cap 486 by Certificate of Incorporation Number C.128339 dated 14th September 2006.

NARUWASCO has 9 Directors who represent various stakeholders including 2 Directors from the County Government of Nakuru, the representatives of Gilgil/Naivasha, Subukia/Bahati, Rongai, Molo, Njoro and Kuresoi constituencies and the youth.

The service area of the company is the whole of Nakuru County except Nakuru and Naivasha Sub Counties.

The total population within our service area is 511,586. However, we only provide water to an estimated population of 304,693. The rest are served by CBO’s through community projects


Section 78 and 83 of the Water Act 2016:

A water services provider shall be responsible for-

  •  the provision of water services within the area  specified in the licence; and
  •  the development of county assets for water service provision.
  •  to hold the County or National public water services assets on behalf of the public

Hits: 35480

Copyright @ 2020, Nakuru Rural Water and Sanitation Company Ltd